My Re-introduction Post on Steemit

rsz_1pa220006.jpg

Yes, look what @ntowl made me do! I actually want to write something for a contest that @mermaidvampire is hosting at the moment, which if I am going to do, I will have to use #steemitmademedo as the first tag. However, as a result of a productive writing class with @ntowl one morning on @dynamicsteemians Discord room, I am motivated to write my new #introduceyourself post. So, in effect, this is what Steemit made me do.

Now, I am going to attempt to introduce myself in a way that will make people at least get to know me a little bit. Bear with me. This is going to be long. But since you have already started, maybe you want to continue reading and hopefully, will interest you to read until the end of this post.

282458_2064719310813_7935758_n.jpg

Okay, so I am originally from the Philippines but my current location is Australia. I was born in Manila almost 40 years ago (you got that right! I always tell people when I am being asked how old I am, “It doesn’t matter how old I am, it’s irrelevant, and besides, it’s something you don’t ask any woman.” Let me borrow @ntowl’s phrase “unwritten rule”. Oh, I love that phrase in her reply to my question regarding the use of #introduceyourself tag – in case you’re wondering “what is she talking about?” Check @ntowl’s post: Introduction Post Contest! 3 sbi shares for the winner. Anyway, there is just this “unwritten rule” in the “unpublished” book of social manners and etiquettes that people should not ask how old someone is, especially when the person being asked is a woman.) I don’t know if anyone of you has come across this “unwritten rule”, or maybe I am just making that up. So, you must ask me then, “why did you even bother telling us you were born some thirty-odd years ago?” Well, because…
PA190675.jpg
21015786_10211642864580386_930023593925208974_o.jpgI am happily married to my sweet, loving and devoted husband. I love him so much with all my heart and soul. He is the love of my life, my soul mate, and my best friend. We have been together for eight years already, but until now, we are still waiting for a baby. The clock is ticking away, leaving only a few years for me to conceive. You all know how a woman’s biological clock works. We have done everything that we could, like check-ups and scans, and everything seems quite normal and perfect. It has probably something to do with the timing, or maybe I am always under so much stress, which is not helpful. But I am not losing hope and faith. I put all my trust and hope in God, and I know that in His perfect time, He will bless us with a baby. Everything happens according to His will and His purpose.
my cats.jpg

23415524_10212166406428605_6928199410177912085_o.jpgKimmy and Miki, oh my babies!!! They relieve my stress and fatigue every day. (By the way, I am a cat-person. In fact, I love all feline animals!!!) Coming home from work, I will be greeted by my cats. Miki, the younger one, is just full of affection. She loves to snuggle up with me and keeps me company, whether I’m watching TV, or doing my work on the computer, or cooking. Even when I sleep in, Miki just stays beside me until it’s finally time for me to get out of bed. Kimmy is the independent one, always has been since I got her. She will only shower me with her affection when she wants something, like when she wants to be let out at 5 in the morning or be fed any time of the day. When she doesn’t get her way, she becomes a grumpy cat, the spoilt cat that she is, she will create a big mess in the house by dropping things on the floor or by scratching our furniture. So I have no choice but to let her out and give her what she wants. (Promise, I will not be a kind of parent like this to my future “human” baby.)

teacher.jpg

new.jpgI love my job and blessed to be part of a Christian school community. I adore all the children under my care. It can be challenging at times but I find self-fulfillment and purpose in what I do. I love teaching, and I am very passionate about it. I am so thankful to God that He blessed me with a job that I love and He placed me in a school where I have the liberty to share with the children who God is and that they are special in His eyes. Back when I was in the Philippines, I was a high school teacher. Then, when I started my teaching career in Australia, I taught in high school and primary school levels as a relief teacher initially, but later on I found my joy and passion in teaching the younger children (in the early childhood years). I strive to learn more about child development and to be more effective in my teaching practice because for me, learning is always a continuous and an ongoing process and it does not stop the moment I finish high school or university.

christian.png

“I am created with beautiful lips to speak words of life to others; reflective eyes to see God and His glory in everything; productive hands to build myself up and not be idle and to help others in need. God has uniquely designed me and equipped me with all I need to create an impact on the lives of the people around me.”
“In my line of work, I have the privilege to minister to the lives of the children. I have every opportunity to make the children know about God and Jesus. Some families in our centre do not believe in the Bible, or are not Christians. But because I work in a Christian school, where there are no policies against teaching Christian values and faith, I have the liberty and freedom to be able to instil in the hearts and minds of our little ones who Jesus is and how much God loves them.”

You may want to visit my other posts to know more about me:

dynamic.png

DynamicSteemians.gifI joined the Steemit community in January 2018 just because my sister @sarahdandridge invited me. She knew that I loved writing, and thought that maybe I could contribute on this platform. Oxford Dictionary defines DYNAMIC (of a person) as “positive in attitude and full of energy and new ideas”. Using that definition, I must say I am dynamic because despite the demands of my work, studies, sports, church and personal life, I still try to submit blog posts every now and then, if and when I get the chance, and when I am charged with new ideas and have the urge to write on some days. Only in the last two or three weeks that I began to be more visible after learning how to use the Discord app, where I have a greater opportunity to reach out to and interact with a lot of people (talking about the dynamics of this community). Through Steemit, I am able to share what I know and inspire the readers/audience with my message. When one of my posts got recognised by @curie and @pharesim and the others, I was elated and it felt really good inside. I told @dynamicgreentk that he was my “lucky gem” because he was the first to comment on that post and boom! My reputation score increased by +4 and my post garnered 349 upvotes in total (that’s a first and hopefully not the last). Just the same way I am happy to belong in my Christian school community, I am also glad to be part of #DynamicSteemians… plus I really love that word “DYNAMIC” – it perfectly describes all the talented and creative people behind the scenes.

 

Copyright © April 2018 @evlachsblog

Leave a comment